Govt signs with MTCC for multi-atoll speed ferry and RTL services

Do not share your personal information with anyone!


Photo: MTCC

The Ministry of Transport and Civil Aviation has entered into agreement with the Maldives Transport and Contracting Company (MTCC) for a multi-atoll speed ferry and Raajje Transport Link (RTL) services.

According to MTCC, it entered into the agreement with the government to launch speed ferry services between Mulaku atoll and Male’ City, and RTL ferry services at Noonu, Raa, and Baa atolls.

MTCC Chief Executive Officer Abdulla Ziyad signed the agreement on behalf of the ferry service provider and the Minister of Transport Mohamed Ameen signed on behalf of the government.

Currently, RTL ferry services are operational in Zone 1 (Haa Alifu, Haa Dhaalu, and Shaviyani atolls), Zone 2 (Lhaviyani atoll), Zone 5 (Gaafu Alifu and Gaafu Dhaalu atolls), and Zone 6 (Fuvahmulah and Addu cities).

MTCC is now expanding the state-initiated RTL ferry services to the remaining atolls, “aiming to connect the entire Maldives through a reliable ferry network.”

The project aims to introduce reliable, efficient, convenient, and sustainable passenger ferry services to all administrative islands of the nation, MTCC said.

Share this post: